The Liebster Award


Sunday 10th August I received a very nice surprise-a lovely young lady nominated me for the Leibster award. I was really taken aback. So first and foremost I’d like to graciously access and thank Ellen who nominated me. You can find Ellen’s blog by clicking the link below:

11 facts about me:

  • I am partially deaf bilaterally and I wear hearing aids, this is a natural defect to my mother’s despair.
  • I love Disney. Disney holds many happy childhood memories for me. It symbolises family quality time and cheesy sing-alongs
  • I have a size 7 foot
  • I adore fish and seafood
  • I used to be a very active member of the girl guides.
  • I graduated this year with my Masters certificate in the Foundations of Clinical Psychology
  • I am right handed
  • Currently I still live with my family, much to my despair
  • I am a Zumba addict.
  • I have two female siblings, younger than me
  • I have a house rabbit called Pascal

I deliberately set myself a new challenge here, I wanted to search for new blogs which I had not found and read myself. I wanted to expose myself to new bloggers who have a lot to say. I did this for two reasons. 1- to encourage them to keep writing.  I found in the early stages of my own blog I found it difficult to believe that what I had to say was worth listening to. 2- to bring in fresh material to this award and keep the positivity and gratitude circling, as some audience share others and it can be difficult to dominate new blogs, especially when other blogs can hog the homepages. So here goes; my nominations are:

Franki Kershaw

Franki writes a blog about family and motherhood. She’s a close friend of mine and writes a refreshing blog about the challenges of motherhood and the new things parent and child experience when new things pop up. She reminds me of the simple things in life which are often taken for granted and it’s nice to read about a happy family.

Melissa Caudill

Melissa writes about life. she has a beautiful writing style and is brutally honest about the difficulties in life she and we as humans may have to face. I particularly recommend her post entitled purpose an honest post about Alzheimer’s and the lessons it can teach us. Very moving.

Amy Hellman

Amy provides remarkable insight into mental health from many view points, this is great as it can be hard to value someone’s opinion if you have no experience of it. Amy will provide some light on dark and often misunderstood issues in mental health.

Its Ok to not feel OK 
This blog is one that attempts to pass on useful things in the rather large realm of mental health. This blogger is honest in their experiences and keen to pass on anything that helped them in an attempt to conquer the stigma, discrimination and negative attention that mental health and suicide harbours.

Edge of the blue.

This is blog written by a fellow psychology student. I do not know her but our aims mean we have something in common. We all learn about humanity together and Amy is fresh faced in this approach.


This blog is one about depression. It is the personal recollection of a mother who has depression. In it you will find a great insight into the common themes that run throughout depression and how coping mechanisms may be reached. Well worth a read- very informative


Marie paints a very vivid picture of life with mental health difficulties and the debilitating effect it can have. The blog however is inspiration because she talks about some of the success which are hard to celebrate due to the tarnished reality that negative affect has, yet there are still positives to be talked about. Marie’s voice should be heard by more people.

Eldritch Edain

This blog is written with men in mind in particular. I think this is vitally important because males have a tendency to slip through the net in mental health, and therefore I think this blog is instrumental in putting things across from a male point of view. It’s not just about psychology of males, there’s other material about psychology in general. It’s a good read.


This blog is a very open and honest account about anxiety. Izzy is great writer and I have learnt a lot from what I have read about her experiences. Her posts are a comfort to so many because it is so common yet I think anxiety gets swept under the carpet at times. It definitely worth a read if you’re not up on your anxiety knowledge!


This blog is extremely informative. One which takes into account the environment and surroundings when talking about things that affect mental health. This is a refreshing look at the causes because all too often the medical model is used to describe the contributing factors to mental health. This blog provides a balanced and informative view of those aspects which are less than favourable in the onset of mental health issues. I have learnt lots with this blog!

Andrea Wrobel

Andrea’s blog is fresh, well written account about life as she knows it. If you’re looking for an in-depth account of  life and anecdotes. Then Andrea’s blog is worth a visit.

Congratulations guys, your blogs are worth a read in my opinion and therefore worthy of the Liebster award!

My questions from Ellen are:

What’s your favourite Ben and Jerry’s flavour? I have to be honest, im not a B&J’s connoisseur, but I always seem to go for Phish food!

What would you say to your past self? Get ready kid, all they say about school vs work is true! enjoy your school years while you can!

What do you hope to gain/achieve from blogging? I hope to gain a little confidence in my own writing ability, I hope to achieve some pointers effective for my CV.

Favourite quote? My favourite quote is a Disney one. “Ohana means family. Family means no one gets left behind or forgotten.

What would be your dream sport to pursue? I’m not a massive fan of sport, however I always wanted to learn to ice skate. I love the winter Olympics and one of my favourite sports to watch is the ice dancing- I imagine it to be really invigorating.

Reason behind your URL? Simplicity.

Marmite, do you love it or hate it? I honestly have never tried it, but I eat with my senses, the smell is awful- I can’t imagine liking it on toast!

Where would be your dream holiday? Mauritius. I love tropical places with crystal clear waters ad unimaginable colours. The dense, unspoilt beauty is immense and I’d love to see it in real life- being somewhere so idyllic would be mind-blowing for the mindfulness and self actualisation.

Where would you like to see yourself a year from now? In my own home and officially grown up!

Where do you get ideas for your posts? Mostly the media and the news.

What do you love? Time with those who are precious to me. I am happiest in the company of my family and my partner. I enjoy their company and I appreciate their support, honesty and guidance.

Here are my questions for my new nominees:

Worst habit?

Best quality?

most extravagant impulse buy?

favourite childhood memory?

if you won the lottery what would be the first thing you would do?

What is your long-term goal from blogging?

If you were reincarnated who or what would you like to return as and why?

Biggest idol?

what is your favourite colour?

what’s your best advice to the younger generation?

if you could meet any celebrity, past or present who would it be and what would you request of them?

One of the condition of this award is to post the rules on my post so here we are, the rules of this award:

1. Post the award on your blog.

2. Thank the blogger who presented this award and link back to their blog.

3. Write 11 random facts about yourself.

4. Nominate 11 bloggers who you feel deserve this award and who have less than 200 followers.

5. Answer 11 questions posted by the presenter and ask your nominees 11 questions.

It’s nice to receive an award like this, and its nice to promote the smaller blogs which may not get as much publicity or air time as others, so lets keep this positive vibe going and show the love for other bloggers who, let’s be honest, are probably doing this for free and might enjoy some encouragement and positivity in the form of an award.

You can accept or decline this award. I have chosen to accept this award and I am grateful for the thought and positivity from Ellen.


5 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

  1. I just read this all tonight. I’ve been very busy caring for my grandson for the last couple of months and trying to keep on top of everything! I am honored and I am going to be working on reposting the rules section! Thank you again for noticing my blog.

    • Steph Wetherhill says:

      You are very welcome! Keep peddling, you’ll get here with all you tasks! Your blog certainly hasn’t gone unnoticed whilst you’ve been busy!

Leave a Reply

