The Genie has been set free.

Today the world mourns the loss of a fabulous actor. Robin Williams. A very talented man who features in most of our top 10 films; Aladdin, Ms Doubtfire, Hook, flubber and many more.

Today it was reported he had been found dead at his home after an apparent suicide attempt. This news truly saddened me and rang massive bells again for those who, despite their speculated wealth, riches and lucky position in life doesn’t report to have had a rosy existence in those final few months leading to this tragic decision.

He has been reported to enduring a severe period of depression. Who would have guessed when someone appears to be so jovial and talented. The talent for acting and his immense comedic value may have masked the severity of his mental health state.

This post isn’t about speculating on someone’s mental health, or casting judgement, its simply about recognising that mental health does not discriminate and anyone is vulnerable. Circumstances do not matter. All I have to offer is my condolences to his family, friends and colleagues who may be having a difficult time at the minute.

I have reflected on the times he has made me laugh and my most memorable character he played was Aladdin’s Genie. Disney is a huge part of my life and I have many happy memories surrounding films like Aladdin. Still, to this day, quotes from his part still make me laugh and the thing is, no one could do that part better. He had a knack of combatting dark or adverse matters with comedy and wit. The message he gives out within his film are not lost. He had a true ability to blend wit and deep and meaningful stories and metaphors and deliver them to his audience with elegance, grace yet with a punch and a wallop. Personally my favourite films are Ms Doubtfire and Aladdin. The messages of family, love and relationships are very significant and important to me and I personally would like to think him for making those so significant for me.

I’m sad that his existence wasn’t as he perhaps would prefer. I challenge anyone to admit they like to live a depressed life, but I only hope he is now free of his dark emotional surroundings. Like the Genie he played in Aladdin he has been freed of his emotional shackles and I hope he is in a happier place.

Thank you Robin for all your influence, thank you for the laughs and the joy.

Leave a comment